2011 Malaysian Grand Prix results

il y a 12 années, 7 mois - 10 Avril 2011
2011 Malaysian Grand Prix results
Sebastian Vettel won the Malaysian GP, despite not being able to deploy his Red Bull’s KERS system for much of the race.

Vettel, who used KERS to press home an advantage during qualifying (eventually giving the German pole position ahead of Lewis Hamilton), was utterly dominant in Malaysia, despite the entire field suffering tyre wear issues due to new supplier Pirelli.

The Sepang circuit in Malaysia is traditionally shrouded in an air of unpredictability due to its tropical location, making weather predictions and tyre choice exceedingly difficult. Despite this, Vettel was hardly troubled and won the GP 3.2 sec ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button - despite the Red Bull driver being advised by his race engineer not to use KERS anymore by lap 29 of the 56 lap race.

A superb drive by Robert Kubica’s replacement for the 2011 season, Nick Heidfeld, secured the last podium position for Renault.

Vettel's team mate Mark Webber, who was initially the fastest driver at Sepang during Friday’s practice sessions, finished fourth, ahead of the Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso. The other McLaren, piloted by Lewis Hamilton, finished a disappointing seventh, after sharing the front of the grid with Vettel at the start.

The top ten positions were filled-out from eight to tenth place by Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi, former multiple world champion Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) and rookie Paul di Resta (Force India) – the young British driver scoring his first F1 points in only his second start.

With his second win in as many races, Vettel now leads the championship with 50 points, well clear of Button (26 points) and Hamilton (24 points). Red Bull leads the team standing with 72 points, 22 clear of McLaren.

Teams will now travel north, to Shanghai, for the Chinese GP to be held 17 April.


Results from the Malaysian Formula One GP raced over 56 laps at Sepang International Circuit on Sunday (corrected for Hamilton place demotion):

  1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) 1hr37min39.832
  2. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) +3.261
  3. Nick Heidfeld (GER/Lotus-Renault) +25.075
  4. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull) +26.384
  5. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) +36.958
  6. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) +57.248
  7. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) +1min06.439
  8. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren) +1min09.957
  9. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes GP) +1min24.896
  10. Paul di Resta (SCO/Force India) +1min31.563
  11. Adrian Sutil (GER/Force India) +1min41.379
  12. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes GP) +1 lap
  13. Sebastien Buemi (SUI/Toro Rosso) +1 lap
  14. Jaime Alguersuari (ESP/Toro Rosso) +1 lap
  15. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Lotus) +1 lap
  16. Timo Glock (GER/Virgin Racing) +2 laps
  17. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Lotus-Renault) +4 laps



Drivers’points standings

  1. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 50
  2. Jenson Button (GBR) 26
  3. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 22
  4. Mark Webber (AUS) 22
  5. Fernando Alonso (ESP) 20
  6. Felipe Massa (BRA) 16
  7. Nick Heidfeld (GER) 15
  8. Vitaly Petrov (RUS) 15
  9. Sebastien Buemi (SUI) 4
  10. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) 4
  11. Adrian Sutil (GER) 2
  12. Michael Schumacher (GER) 2
  13. Paul di Resta (SCO) 2


Constructors’ points standings

  1. Red Bull 72
  2. McLaren 48
  3. Ferrari 36
  4. Lotus-Renault 30
  5. Sauber 6
  6. Toro Rosso 4
  7. Force India 4
  8. Mercedes GP 2