2015 World Car of the Year Finalists Announced

il y a 8 ans, 3 mois - 17 Février 2015, Autoblog
2015 World Car of the Year Finalists Announced
Every year, an international committee of automotive jurors get together and select their top picks for the World Car of the Year award. The jury announces the winner at the New York Auto Show, but before they do, they announce the finalists. And here's this year's crop.

The top ten finalists for the award include the

In addition to the top honors, the jury also picks winners in individual categories. For the World Luxury Car of the Year, the finalists are

  • the BMW i8 and X6,
  • Cadillac ATS Coupe and Escalade,
  • Kia K900,
  • Lexus NX and RC,
  • Lincoln MKC,
  • Mercedes S-Class Coupe and
  • Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB.

The finalists for World Performance Car of the Year include

  • the Audi S1, S3 and TT,
  • the Bentley Continental GT Speed,
  • the BMW M3/M4,
  • Chevrolet Corvette Z06,
  • Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat,
  • Jaguar F-Type R Coupe,
  • Lexus RC F and
  • Mercedes-AMG GT.

The short list for World Green Car of the Year is made up of

  • the BMW i8 (again),
  • the Hyundai Tucson Fuel Cell,
  • Kia Soul EV,
  • Volvo XC90 T8 and
  • VW Golf GTE.

Finally, the nominees for the World Car Design of the Year award are

  • the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer,
  • Citroën C4 Cactus,
  • Mercedes C-Class,
  • Porsche Macan and
  • Volvo XC90.

BMW would appear to hold the strongest chances of winning something, with four of its vehicles nominated across six categories. But as a group, Volkswagen has received seven nominations across its various brands, with at least one nominee in each category except for the luxury award. Meanwhile five models have been nominated in multiple categories, including the C4, 2 Series, RC, C-Class, and XC90. Look for the winners to be announced in Manhattan come April.