Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Sets Up Final Dash For Second Place

il y a 11 années, 10 mois - 14 Novembre 2011, Wheels News
Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Sets Up Final Dash For Second Place
After claiming pole position for a record equaling 14th time this season, Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel looked the firm favourite to be victorious at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Unfortunately the 2011 Champion suffered a rear puncture during the opening lap at the Yas Marina Circuit.

This paved the way for McLaren's Lewis Hamilton, who dominated during the practice rounds, to race to victory and claim his third Grand Prix win of the season. Hamilton held onto first place despite being challenged throughout the race by Ferrari's Fernando Alonso and McLaren team mate Jenson Button.

Alonso should be congratulated for maintaining pressure on Hamilton and redeem himself for a terrible Abu Dhabi race in 2010.

Button claimed the third spot on the podium while Red Bull's Mark Webber and Ferrari's Felipe Massa placed fourth and fifth respectively.

A great race for Hamilton who managed to avoid a seventh collision with Massa and race to victory in the penultimate race of the 2011 season.

Toro Rosso's Sebastian Buemi, HRT's Daniel Ricciardo and Virgin's Jerome d'Ambrosio retired from the race.

Formula 1 heads to Brazil for the final race of the 2011 season on November 27th.


Abu Dhabi Grand Prix results:

  1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1hour 37mins 11.886 seconds
  2. Fernando Alonso Ferrari +00h08.457s
  3. Jenson Button McLaren 00h25.881s
  4. Mark Webber Red Bull 00h35.784s
  5. Felipe Massa Ferrari  00h50.578s
  6. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 00h52.317s
  7. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 01h15min964s
  8. Adrian Sutil Force India 01h17min122s
  9. Paul di Resta Force India 01h41min087s
  10. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1 lap
  11. Sergio Perez Sauber 1 lap
  12. Rubens Barrichello Williams 1 lap
  13. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1 lap
  14. Pastor Maldonado Williams 1 lap
  15. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 1 lap
  16. Bruno Senna Renault 1 lap
  17. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 1 lap
  18. Jarno Trulli Lotus 2 laps
  19. Timo Glock Virgin 2 laps
  20. Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT 2 laps

Retired Daniel Ricciardo HRT

Retired Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso

Retired Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin   

Retired Sebastian Vettel Red Bull