Red Bull wins Monza Grand Prix

il y a 12 années - 11 Septembre 2011
Red Bull wins Monza Grand Prix
Monza - Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel took an easy win at the Italian GP, held at Monza, to further solidify his claims on a second world championship in 2011.

The German (and current world champion), who qualified in pole position, won the 53-lap race at Monza, leading home McLaren’s Jenson Button and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, to ensure a podium compromised of world championship winning drivers.

Button’s team mate, Lewis Hamilton, finished fourth, followed by Mercedes driver Michael Schumacher – a five-time winner at Monza.

Sebastian Vettel could wrap up his second world championship in Singapore, the next round of the 2011 championship, on Sunday 25 September.

The German's Monza victory adds 20 points to his lead, and with only 150 points left to win in 2011. The 24-year-old German, who had started on pole position for the 10th time in 13 races, stretched his overall lead to a mighty 112 points after Australian team mate and closest rival Mark Webber crashed out.

"Are we watching one of the true greats?" BBC commentator David Coulthard wondered.

Asked if he will be celebrating his second title in two weeks, Red Bull's Vettel answered with a grin: "I think we have put ourselves in a very good position."

F1's other two-time world champions are Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Emerson Fittipaldi, Mika Hakkinen and Fernando Alonso.


  1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:20:46.172 
  2. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren +00:09.590 
  3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:16.909 
  4. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 00:17.417 
  5. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:32.677 
  6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:42.993 
  7. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap 
  8. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 1 lap 
  9. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Renault 1 lap 
  10. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap 
  11. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Cosworth 1 lap 
  12. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams - Cosworth 1 lap 
  13. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 2 laps 
  14. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus - Renault 2 laps 
  15. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin - Cosworth 2 laps 
  16. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) HRT - Cosworth 14 laps r.
  17. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 21 laps r.
  18. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber - Ferrari 32 laps r.
  19. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 44 laps r.
  20. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 49 laps r.
  21. Jerome d'Ambrosio (Belgium) Virgin - Cosworth 52 laps r.
  22. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 53 laps r.
  23. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 53 laps r.
  24. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) HRT - Cosworth 53 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Fastest Lap: Lewis Hamilton,1:26.187, lap 52.