Points Allowed: Introdution of Driving Licence Counterpart

10 years, 4 months ago - 13 January 2013, Le Mauricien
Points Allowed: Introdution of Driving Licence Counterpart
The grant forms will be listed alphabetically at the nearest police station

Procedures for the introduction of penalty points become clear. Mauritians to inform on the new system, the authorities address a non-negligible component: education and awareness. Thus, the first step of this project is in line to be activated. This is the grant of Counterpart Driving Licence form commonly called Road Rage. This was explained officials Transport Interior and the Deputy Commissioner of Police Traffic, R. I Beekun Thursday morning, the lunch room of the National Assembly. 
The Counterpart Driving Licence is a personalized document that, once the system of penalty points has obtained the force of law, must be accompanied by the license at any time and must be presented when a police officer requests it. Information such as Penalty points, the date of the offense, the amount of the fine, the period of disqualification, the expiry date of the penalty point therein. 
Distribution of forms Counterpart Driving Licence will, alphabetically, from 21 January and will run for a period of eight weeks, until March 21. Motorists are asked to collect their forms at the police station nearest from 9h to 19h including weekends and public holidays (see table below). They should bring their identity cards or their birth size A4, driver's license and proof of address. In case a driver delegate someone else, it is requested to provide a letter of authorization and identity card holder's driver's license in good standing. A person can represent four people at once. It should be noted that the distribution of the form will not by police but by the staff of a company entrusted with this task. 
The purpose of the introduction of penalty points is a reminder, to the island Maurice secure a place in significantly reducing the road accidents. The goal of every driver is to wear the least amount of points possible on paper Counterpart Driving Licence. Thus, the slogan "Zero Points, Zero hassle," must prevail in the minds of motorists. 
Initially a driver begins with zero points on his license. In case of conviction for an offense, the court, in addition to the regular system of sanctions, the sanction by awarding penalty points in the range of points awarded to the offense. The number of points provided ranges from 2 to 10 with respect to the gravity of the offense. Penalty points awarded for each offense be effective for 36 months from the date of conviction. The Provisional Driving Licence (Learners license) will have a maximum of 10 points. Beyond that, the driver will be prohibited from driving a motor vehicle in Mauritius. Permanent driver's license will have a maximum of 15 points. Beyond that, the driver will be prohibited from driving a motor vehicle in Mauritius. The period of suspension shall not be less than 6 months. At the end of the suspension period, all penalty points from the suspension will be cancelled. After two suspensions, the license will be simply canceled. The Fixed Penalty Notice and Photographic Enforcement Device Instructions are also included in the system, for which the time of payment of the fine, the lowest point of the range of points awarded will be awarded to the offense.
The distribution of forms will be:

Alphabet Dates 

AB: 21 January 2013 - 28 January 2013 

 CD: 29 January 2013 - February 5, 2013 

EK February 6, 2013- February 17, 2013 

LM: February 18, 2013 - February 25, 2013 

NR: February 26, 2013 - March 7, 2013 

SZ: 8 March 2013 - 21 March 2013

Police stations are: 
Piton Police Station 
Police Station Trou-aux-Biches 
Police Station Terre Rouge 
Police Station de Plaine-Verte 
Abercombie Police Station 
Police Station Baie-du-Tombeau 
Police Station Line Barracks 
Police Station Pope Hennessy 
Police Station La Tour Koenig 
Police Station Flacq 
District Police Station, Military 
Police Station Dry River 
Police Station Quatre-Bornes 
Police Station Rose Hill 
Police Station Bamboo 
Curepipe Police Station 
Police Station Vacoas 
Police Station Midlands 
Police Station Rose-Belle 
Mahebourg Police Station 
Police Station Rivière-des-Eels

Police Station Port Mathurin 
Police Station Farm