Formula 1: Qantas Australian Grand Prix results

12 years ago - 27 March 2011
Formula 1: Qantas Australian Grand Prix results
Saturday's qualifying session could have just as well been pulled out of last season's calendar, with Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari as usual dominating the front of the grid.

 Vettel showed strongest of all, claiming pole position by nearly a full second. His wingman and hometown favorite Mark Webber landed third, McLaren's pairing of world champions Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button following in second and fourth, respectively. Fernando Alonso qualified fifth, his teammate Felipe Massa relegated to eighth with Renault's Vitaly Petrov impressively placing sixth on the starting grid ahead of Mercedes' Nico Rosberg, while his senior counterpart Michael Schumacher landed only eleventh behind Kamui Kobayashi's Sauber and Sebastien Buemi's Toro Rosso. Sauber's Sergio Perez, newcomers Paul di Resta (Force India) and Pastor Maldonado (Williams), Adrian Sutil (Force India), Rubens Barrichello (Williams), Nick Heidfeld (filling in for Robert Kubica at Renault), Lotus' Heikki Kovalainen and Jarno Trulli, and Virgin's Timo Glock and Jerome d'Ambrisio rounded out the rest of the grid, while HRT failed to qualify at all under the re-instituted 107% rule.

And here there are race results

1. Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault Winner

2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 58 +22.2 secs

3. Vitaly Petrov Renault +30.5 secs

4. Fernando Alonso Ferrari +31.7 secs

5. Mark Webber RBR-Renault +38.1 secs

6. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes +54.3 secs

7. Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari +65.8 secs

8. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari +76.8 secs

9. Felipe Massa Ferrari +85.1 secs

10. Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari +1 Lap

11. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes +1 Lap

12. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes +1 Lap

13. Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari +1 Lap

14. Nick Heidfeld Renault +1 Lap

15. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault +2 Lap

16. Jerome d'Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth +4 Lap

Ret. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth +9 Lap

Ret. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth +10 Lap

Ret. Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP +36 Lap

Ret. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault +39 Laps

Ret. Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP +39 Laps

Ret. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth +49 Laps